Celebrations To Start The Season

Written by International GT on . Posted in international gt

2019 Champions Celebrated at Sebring, Special Honors Given

International GT Benoit Bergeron
Benoit Bergeron, 2019 Maranello Cup Champion and series Rookie of the Year
international gt Will Wachs
Will Wachs, Stuttgart Cup Champion
International GT Tom Pank

Along with the beautiful trophies, each Champion also received a watch from BRM Chronographes and merchandise certificates from RacerInk and Speedcom.

The excitement of the IGT season opener at Sebring includes our annual awards reception at the Sebring Gallery of Legends. The evening’s event is part celebration of the upcoming season welcoming new drivers, teams and sponsors to the IGT family and part recognition of the past season’s champions, plus special awards to those that have made considerable contributions to motorsports and beyond. 

International GT is comprised of three Championships. The Maranello Championship went to BENOIT BERGERON from Quebec, Canada. Bergeron joined IGT at Mid Ohio with his team Etcetera Racing and took the Ferrari competitors by storm. His podium finishes which included 9 first place, 2 -2nd place and 3 -3rd place, contributed to his championship and winning Rookie of the Year honors which includes a cruise from Scott Grody Travel.

Another rookie entered the fray at Mid Ohio to win the 2019 Stuttgart Cup Championship.  WILLIAM WACHS committed to making his run at the championship from his first podium finish at his home track in Ohio. Will and the Gator Gang continued their winning ways the rest of the year to capture the 2019 crown.  

TOM PANK (left) came back to reclaim the Mission Foods GT3 Cup Trophy after winning his first championship in 2017. Tom and the Ultra Performance team were always ready to challenge for a podium position throughout the year. 

Much Deserved Special Recognitions

The Derek Bell Le Mans Trophy and the Bob Akin Award are very special and unique awards that are presented by International GT each year.  

The Derek Bell Trophy, presented by The Gorsline Company is awarded to a driver and team for sportmanship, professionalism, camaraderie and competitive spirit. JOE VARDE, and Team Salad, were recognized for the dedication of his successful pro career, driver coaching, team ownership and management. International GT is proud to have Derek Bell as Series Ambassador with a career that spans decades including factory driver for Porsche and Ferrari and the donation of his Le Mans Trophy for presentation each year. 

international gt

Above, Joe accepting the award from John Gorsline who through his Gorsline Company will make a donation to Joe’s charity of choice, the Jayne Koskinas Ted Giovanis Foundation for Health and Policy.

international gt

TED GIOVANIS (second from right) took home the Bob Akin Award for his significant contribution to sportscar racing. An impressive group of past winners joined in the presentation, from left Mark Sandridge, Bill Riddell, Juan Gonzalez and Tony Parella.

The Bob Akin Award presented by Hudson Historics, is Bob’s original 1984 IMSA Camel GT Trophy. The award signifies the character and qualities that Bob Akin was known for. A successful professional and amateur racer and businessman, devoted to family and friends, a broad range of interests and meticulous attention to detail, a sharp wit and mischievous sense of humor.  TED GIOVANIS, owner of Team TGM, who competes in both International GT and IMSA Michelin Pilot Series, embraces the honorable qualities that Bob and the other Akin award winners share and was an obvious selection for this year’s award.

And Now A Word From Our Sponsors…

We would like to sincerely thank the businesses that helped to make the 2019 International GT Season a great success!


IGT Marketing partners


IGT Sponsors


IGT official suppliers

IGT 2020 Schedule
  • BPM